Sunday, March 20, 2011

Rockets hand out hardware

Adam Brown was named the MVP. He becomes the fifth goaltender to pick up the honour, following in the footsteps of Derek Yeomans, Kelly Guard, Shane Bendera and Kevin Swanson.
Tyson Barrie was named the top defenceman. It's the second time he's picked up the award. The last d-man to win the honour in back-to-back seasons was Luke Schenn. Scott Hannan won it three years in a row.
Colton Sissons is named the rookie of the year. The 17 year-old also won the top plus/minus award.
Shane McColgan picked up the top scorer. McColgan becomes the youngest player to ever lead the Rockets in scoring. Not bad for a 17 year-old.

  • Evan Bloodoff was named the unsung hero.
  • Mitchell Callahan was the top defensive forward.
  • MacKenzie Johnston was the scholastic player of the year.
  • Geordie Wudrick won the humanitarian of the year honour.
  • Zach Franko was named the most sportsmanlike player of the year.
  • Jessey Astles was named the most improved player.

1 comment:

Gord McGarva said...

I like the brick wall behind Adam; he sure put one up in front of his net this year.

Congrats to all the award winners.